Hit enter after type your search item
Wzy Word


Which MPs are standing down at the election?


MPs standing down

The commonplace election date is house and most MPs are coming into marketing campaign mode. Others, then all but once more, are clearing out their desk for the closing time.

The Condo of Commons will lose additional than 750 years of parliamentary journey with additional than 50 incumbents on the extent of face down – and there may possibly virtually positively possibly properly be additional to come back all but once more.

Listed under are these we find out about to this degree:


Ken Clarke, is the longest serving MP throughout the Condo of Commons, referred to as the daddy of the home, having served his Rushcliffe constituency for honest about half a century.

A lengthy-time supporter of the UK’s membership of the EU, he was expelled from the Conservative Uncover collectively by Boris Johnson, after he rebelled in opposition to the federal government over Brexit.

Picture copyright
PA Media

Picture caption

Mr Clarke ran three circumstances for Conservative chief

Sir Oliver Letwin, the historic Conservative minister and West Dorset MP , who was honest no longer too prolonged throughout the previous on the forefront of Parliamentary makes an attempt to extend Brexit.

Historical Schooling Secretary and Brexit revolt Justine Greening (Putney), who talked about she can be ready to have the ability to “cost additional positive commerce exterior Parliament” and may now focal degree significantly on enhancing social mobility.

Picture copyright
PA Media

Picture caption

Greening represents Putney which voted overwhelmingly to dwell throughout the EU referendum

One-time Conservative administration candidate and strolling fanatic Rory Stewart (Penrith and the Border), who’s specializing in attempting to beat Sadiq Khan in subsequent 12 months’s London mayoral election, as an honest candidate.

Historical Residence, and Work and Pensions, Secretary Amber Rudd, MP for the ultra-marginal Hastings and Rye seat, who resigned from the cabinet and surrendered the Tory whip over Brexit in September. She was no longer amongst those who had the whip restored by the PM on Tuesday.

Guto Bebb (Aberconwy), but each different Brexit revolt saved out throughout the cool by Boris Johnson – and so unable to face as a Conservative candidate.


Claire Perry (Devizes), a historic power m inister and president of COP26, a UN local weather commerce conference.

Sir Nicholas Soames (Mid Sussex), grandson of wartime chief Sir Winston Churchill, who was amongst these kicked out of the occasion by Boris Johnson over his opposition to a no-deal Brexit.

He has now been welcomed again into the fold, however is standing down.

Readmitted rebels Alistair Burt (North East Bedfordshire), Richard Harrington (Watford), Richard Benyon (Newbury).

Picture copyright
Getty Images

Picture caption

Famed household: Sir Nicholas Soames together with his grandfather Sir Winston Churchill

Historical Defence Secretary Sir Michael Fallon who has been the MP for Sevenoaks since 1997 and sooner than that MP for Darlington.

David Lidington (Aylesbury) de-facto deputy PM under Theresa Might properly needs to make the most of additional time together with his household whereas he’s “restful in inspiring and proper properly being”.

Historical miner – and historic minister – who has been in Parliament for 33 years – Sir Patrick McLoughlin (Derbyshire Dales).

Dame Caroline Spelman (Meriden), who cited “the depth of abuse creating out of Brexit” in her resignation assertion.

Jo Johnson (Orpington), the PM’s brother, who resigned from the cabinet over Brexit.

Picture copyright
UK Parliament

Picture caption

Joseph Johnson resigned as substitute minister closing week

Different Tory MPs leaving the inexperienced benches may be:

  • Jeremy Lefroy (Stafford),
  • David Jones (Clwyd West)
  • Glyn Davies (Montgomeryshire)
  • Keith Simpson (Broadland)
  • Carve Hurd (Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner)
  • Hint Prisk (Hertford and Stortford)
  • Bill Grant (Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock)
  • Sir Hugo Swire (East Devon)
  • David Tredinnick (Bosworth)
  • Hint Self-discipline (Cities of London and Westminster)
  • Seema Kennedy (South Ribble)
  • Sarah Newton (Truro & Falmouth)
  • Mims Davies (Eastleigh)


Of the Labour MPs who’ve launched their map to step aside, an correct quantity are each Brexiteers or in opposition to a second referendum.

Jim Fitzparick (Poplar and Limehouse) and Sir Kevin Barron (Rother Valley) have all voted for Theresa Might properly’s Brexit deal at some stage. Outmoded substitute unionist Ronnie Campbell (Blyth Valley) and Kate Hoey (Vauxhall) backed prance away throughout the 2016 referendum. John Mann (Bassetlaw) has already left and now sits throughout the Condo of Lords.

Ex-shadow justice minister Gloria De Piero (Ashfield), who expressed space over the “lack of tolerance for assorted viewpoints” inside her occasion in her resignation speech.

One-time administration challenger Owen Smith (Pontypridd).

Ann Clwyd (Cynon Valley), who at 82 is the oldest lady to sit down down down down throughout the Condo of Commons.

Louise Ellman (Liverpool Riverside) – who cease Labour over anti-Semitism for the size of the occasion – and Joan Ryan, now of Trade UK (Enfield North).

Different Labour MPs stepping down are:

  • Stephen Pound (Ealing North)
  • Stephen Twigg (Liverpool West Derby)
  • Roberta Blackman-Woods (Metropolis of Durham)
  • Geoffrey Robinson (Coventry North West)
  • Teresa Pearce (Erith and Thamesmead)
  • Paul Farrelly (Newcastle-Under-Lyme)
  • Albert Owen (Ynys Mon)
  • Jim Cunningham (Coventry South)
  • Ian Lucas (Wrexham)
  • Helen Jones (Warrington North)

Liberal Democrats

Picture caption

Vince Cable was the second politician to appear on the BBC’s Strictly Arrive Dancing

Historical occasion chief – and cabinet minister throughout the coalition authorities – Sir Vince Cable (Twickenham).

Historical coalition authorities minister Sir Norman Lamb (North Norfolk), who’s leaving Westminster to focal degree on environment up a fund for people with psychological properly being parts and discovering out disabilities.

Historical Conservative and Trade UK MP Heidi Allen (Cambridgeshire South), who solely joined the Lib Dems only a few weeks throughout the previous, talked about she had suffered “totally dehumanising abuse” as an MP in a letter to her constituents saying her future intentions.

The Speaker

As properly to being the Condo of Commons referee, historic Conservative John Bercow is the MP for Buckingham, which he has represented since 1997.

Sooner than he launched his choice to step down, the Conservative Uncover collectively talked about it speculated to interrupt conference and prance a candidate in opposition to him on the subsequent election.

Picture copyright
UK Parliament

Picture caption

John Bercow served as Speaker for 10 years

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar