Hit enter after type your search item
Wzy Word


England’s Curry nominated for participant of the year


Tom Curry

Tom Curry has carried out each minute of England’s World Cup marketing campaign
Rugby World Cup best: England v South Africa
Venue: World Stadium, Yokohama Date: Saturday, 2 November Kick-off: 09: 00 BST
Safety: Plump commentary on BBC Radio 5 Dwell, plus textual content updates on the BBC Sport site and app.

Sale Sharks support-row Tom Curry grew to become as quickly as the most convenient English nomination on a six-man shortlist for World Participant of the Twelve months.

England’s World Cup best opponents South Africa had two nominees in Cheslin Kolbe and Pieter-Steph du Toit.

Wales captain Alun Wyn Jones grew to become as quickly as moreover included, whereas New Zealand’s Ardie Savea and the USA’ Joe Taufete’e full the line-up.

In the meantime, England personal dominated the females’s class with three nominations for the Participant of the Twelve months.

Sarah Bern, Katy Daley-Mclean and Emily Scarratt are all up for the award, whereas Pauline Bourdon (France) and Kendra Cocksedge (New Zealand) are moreover included.

The awards will seemingly be offered at a dinner in Tokyo on Sunday, three November – the day after the World Cup best.

Curry rewarded for World Cup manufacture

At true 21-years-mild, Curry is the youngest participant on the shortlist after his standout performances on the World Cup.

The Sale flanker has carried out each minute of England’s World Cup marketing campaign, together with a specific person-of-the-match present inside the 40-16 quarter-finest take over Australia.

Curry will originate in opposition to the Springboks inside the best as England association to take their 2nd world crown.

England captain Owen Farrell, lock Maro Itoje and South Africa scrum-half of Faf de Klerk had been amongst these disregarded to prevail remaining yr’s winner Johnny Sexton.

The shortlist grew to become as quickly as compiled by a panel of long-established internationals together with Richie McCaw, John Smit, George Gregan, Brian O’Driscoll and Agustin Pichot, now the vice-chairman of World Rugby.

Participant of the Twelve months nominations

Males: Tom Curry (England), Cheslin Kolbe (South Africa), Pieter-Steph du Toit (South Africa), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales), Ardie Savea (New Zealand), Joe Taufete’e (United States)

Females: Sarah Bern (England), Pauline Bourdon (France), Kendra Cocksedge (New Zealand), Katy Daley-Mclean (England) and Emily Scarratt (England)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar